Aber RC – Race Organisers of the Year

At the USN 2015 Welsh Cycling Awards, the Race Organiser of the Year was awarded to Abergavenny Road Club for the British Cycling National Cyclo Cross Championships held earlier this year. Maindy Flyers Youth Cycling Club were recognised for the British National Youth Circuit Series Round five held over the weekend of the 2014 Velothon Wales in Cardiff, as well Richard Hopkins and his team for the NFTO Junior Tour of Wales. 

In January 2015 Abergavenny Road Club hosted the 2015 National Cyclo-cross Championships in the grounds of King Henry V111 School, Abergavenny.  This prestigious event saw over 500 cyclists meet to race at the culmination of the Cyclo-cross season.   The event was organised by club members, Ian Jenkins, Steve lane, David James, Jamie West and Ceri Best, with a technical course designed by Graham Edwards.

Three days before the event volunteers arrived to prepare and set the course and turn a school sports ground  in to a cyclo-cross course fit for the best racers in Britain.  More volunteers arrived to welcome visitors, help with car parking, sign-on riders, maintenance and marshalling during the two days of competition.  In all, over 100 club members and friends volunteered on a weekend of atrocious weather.

Competitors, visitors and as importantly officials commented favourably on the quality racing provided and the huge welcome they received from the horde of volunteers The event has even been described it as the best Championships ever and was shown, live on S4C!!!

Abergavenny Road Club is blessed with great volunteers, which meant the club could to promote a great national cycling event with an extremely small financial budget.

Posted in Uncategorised

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *